Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3) – Book Review

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3)Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

description

I apologize in advance for this is going to be more of a rant rather than an actual review 😐


SYNOPSIS:

The café is boiling. The atmosphere is clouded with bittersweet coffee.
Three years of desire rip through my body and burst from my lips: “Josh!”
His head jolts up. For a long time, a very long time, he just stares at me.
And then…he blinks. “Isla?”

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on brooding artist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And, after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer break, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to face uncertainty about their futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Set against the stunning backdrops of New York, Paris and Barcelona, this is a gorgeous, heart-wrenching and irresistible story of true love, and the perfect conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.


PROS:

✘ Isla’s best friend, Kurt?
I can’t think of anything good but at the same time I don’t want to leave this blank


CONS:

CRINGEY instalove
✘ The characters were such crybabies
CRINGEY banter
✘ The plot? was ALL OVER the place
CRINGEY relationship moments. ALL OF THEM.
✘ I’m confused
CRINGEY writing style


STAND-OUT SCENES INCLUDE BUT NOT LIMITED TO:

✘ “I’ve desired/loved him for 3 years but he never noticed”
✘ “l’m wrong, he felt the same!”
✘ “He’s my bf now, YAY!”
✘ “I hate my bf’s ex!”
✘ “omg, he’s getting expelled from school!”
✘ “omg, my life is over now that my baby is getting expelled!”
✘ “I hate my bf’s ex!”
✘ “omg, we’ll never see each other again!”
✘ “omg, he just said on NATIONAL TV that he doesn’t have a girlfriend!”
✘ “omg, we just broke up for no good reason!”
✘ “I hate my bf’s ex!”
✘ “omg, he got me A PRESENT!”
✘ “omg, we’re BACK TOGETHER!”
✘ “omg, I think I’m ok with my bf’s ex because her sister is my friend again!”
“WE’RE FINALLY LIVING HAPPILY EVER AFTER!”

I will NOT re-read the first two books in this series because I’m hella scared and don’t want to trash my fetus faves. Buh-bye.


I read the first two books in this series about 5 years ago and I remember them being a kick-start into reading contemporaries. Now I wonder whether my tastes have changed (since I 5-starred them both), diving into Isla and the Happily Ever After for the first time…
description


Have you read any of the books in this series before, was it worth the hype? Does it make you nostalgic? Is Stephanie Perkins your auto-buy author? Do you plan to reread any of these books to see whether your tastes have changed or not? If you haven’t read it, is it on your tbr? Let me know what you think 🙂 

Thanks for checking out my post, I hope that you all have a lovely day and a very happy reading! ❤

5 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss, #3) – Book Review

Leave a comment